Site Search

Nominations Open for the 2020 Volunteer of the Year Awards

Monday, July 20, 2020 - 10:11 AM

On Saturday 18th July, the Volunteer of the Year Awards were launched by Optus & the WA Football Commission. The Volunteer of the Year Awards provide a amazing opportunity to celebrate the fantastic work done by football volunteers all around the country and to recognise their incredible achievements & service to the game.

The WAFC, in conjunction with the AFL, will be presenting awards to volunteers in the following categories:

  • Optus WA Football Volunteer of the Year
  • Community Club Volunteer
  • NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer
  • AFL Diversity Ambassador
  • AFL Primary School Ambassador
  • AFL Secondary School Ambassador
  • AFL All Abilities Volunteer
  • Go for 2&5 AFL Junior Coach of the Year
  • Senior Coach of the Year
  • Community Umpiring Service (new in 2020)

The Optus WA Football Volunteer of the Year Award supported by The Sunday Times, is the major award. It is awarded to the volunteer deemed to have made the most outstanding overall contribution to WA Football. 

Last season, John Sobolewski (photographed) represented the Subiaco District, as the District's Volunteer of the Year nominee & eventual WA Overall Winner of the Optus Volunteer of the Year Award, presented at the 2019 Sandover Medal.

John was the President of the Sorrento Duncraig Junior Football Club and had put in an outstanding effort not only during the 2019 season, but over a number of years in a variety of different volunteer roles.

Apart from being President for several years & a committee volunteer in a number of  roles, John had also been a coach at Auskick/Modified level & has also assisted with the Junior Girls teams. While managing the largest community club in the country with over 1000 members, John worked relentlessly in establishing female football at his club, working with the district and fellow presidents sharing best practice strategies.   

Football clubs and schools across Western Australia are strongly encouraged to submit nominations and recognise their volunteers for their hard work and dedication. Nominations close on Friday August 28th.

Read more.

Nomination link.